Forums

This topic is locked

User Login

Posted 20 Jun 2001 10:05:45
has voted
20 Jun 2001 10:05:45 Azlina Salmin posted:
Hi everbody...
I just join this site and it was very helpful as i'm just a beginner in using DU..
I want to ask something about user log in. Is there any easy way to coding (instead of using LOg In authorization in server bbehavior) where we can identify/detect whether the user is a normal user or an admin and after that just redirect it to the different pages according to the user (normal user/admin)..can anyone help...i really appreciate it... TQ

Replies

Replied 20 Jun 2001 22:51:59
20 Jun 2001 22:51:59 Dave Joosten replied:
Hello Aleenz,

I would suggest you use the login server behavior and then add a check point to each page to protect it. Or if the admin user is always on a Fixed IP address you could redirect by IP address. But this is less secure then the user login feature.

I would suggest you read the UltraDev 4 manual, Chapter 10 Building Pages that restrict Access to your site.

<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
Hi everbody...
I just join this site and it was very helpful as i'm just a beginner in using DU..
I want to ask something about user log in. Is there any easy way to coding (instead of using LOg In authorization in server bbehavior) where we can identify/detect whether the user is a normal user or an admin and after that just redirect it to the different pages according to the user (normal user/admin)..can anyone help...i really appreciate it... TQ
<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>

Dave Joosten
Replied 22 Jun 2001 06:10:16
22 Jun 2001 06:10:16 Azlina Salmin replied:
Hi djoosten..

Thanks for replying my msg..
But i thought u don't understand what i'm asking for..Ok let me explain it in simple word..
- there's two type of user:admin and normal user.