Forums

PHP

This topic is locked

MySQL PHP DMX multiple records editing

Posted 24 Aug 2003 07:23:34
has voted
24 Aug 2003 07:23:34 wing chiu yip posted:
I am a secondary school teacher. Recently I want to build a web application such that
I can retrive the student name list from my school server and input mark/grade to every student and then save the result to server again. Originally, I think it is easy to display all students on a single screen and then input the mark/grade to each student, and finally just press a single submit button to save result. After reading many books, articles, tips etc. I found that all such material just teach me how to edit a single record only. If I want to input mark/grade for all student. What I must to do is 1. display/edit a single record ->2. submit the result ->3. go to next record and then repeat step 1 to step 3 again until all marks/grade are input. There is also an alternate, it displays all student names on the screen and there is a update button to each student, when I press a button for a particular student, it jumps to a page to edit the mark for this student. After pressing the submit button, it jumps back to original screen. It is not I wanted.

What I want is as follows :

each line represents a single record in db.

No. Name mark
===============
1 Tom 40 <- input
2 Peter 37 <- input
3 Mary 68 <- input

submit reset <- button

Is there any method to edit multiple records?

Replies

Replied 23 Mar 2007 00:37:10
23 Mar 2007 00:37:10 Roger Goodwin replied:
I need to do a similar thing, did you ever find a solution?

Roger
Replied 24 Mar 2007 19:01:26
24 Mar 2007 19:01:26 Alan C replied:
I think there should be a way to do this based on generating textboxes, one for each student, each with a different id, name and value. You could do this within a loop in php, using something like the student id.

Then you can take the existing mark of each student, and display it as the initial value inside each textbox.