Forums

PHP

This topic is locked

Test Server for PHP

Posted 16 Jul 2003 02:39:30
has voted
16 Jul 2003 02:39:30 Danny Carrone posted:
how do i set up the test server. when i try to select a database, i get an error...i am new to MX and learning...thx!!!

Danny

Replies

Replied 29 Jul 2003 13:19:50
29 Jul 2003 13:19:50 Terry Ashley replied:
<font face='Verdana'>
Were you able to connect to the test server ok, does the database reside on your local machine or a remote machine? Make sure you have proper access to the db you’re trying to connect to; I am assuming it is a MySQL database, correct? What is the exact error you are getting?
</font id='Verdana'>

Terry D. Ashley
"Imagination is more important than knowledge." ..Albert Einstein
Replied 29 Jul 2003 15:51:38
29 Jul 2003 15:51:38 Shane Kelly replied:
Hey 504pro... i had the same problems when I switched to dreamweaver MX.

THis is how I got it fixed, and working.

1. First of all you need to start with a new site...it won't work if the site you're using has existing connection and include folders for example.

2. Go to php.net and apache.org and download the newest stable versions of both and install them on your local machine (if you don't know how to do this...look on php.net for installation instructions.

3. Once you have installed apache...make sure it is working by opening your browser and going to localhost

it should open a page with a funky feather on it...if you've done that then you're well on your way.

4. Now you need to tell apache how to deal with PHP files so there are instructions on php.net on how to change the config file (httpd.conf)

5. then browse to the folder where Apache was installed (probably C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\) and click on the htdocs folder...this is your root folder...

6. Create a test php file in here called test.php and inside of that file enter:
&lt;?php

echo "hello world";

?&gt;

...and save it. in the htdocs folder