Forums

ASP

This topic is locked

Maybe Pretty basic - Download

Posted 09 Dec 2002 16:52:25
has voted
09 Dec 2002 16:52:25 Nick Brook posted:
Hi,
Im relatively new to web site development, so this may be a pretty basic question. After I have created an asp page and uploaded it, when I try to open it in my browser it trys to download. This also happens with javascript pages, but those are the only formats I have tried. Is this my browser settings or something else? Thankyou for your help in advance.

Replies

Replied 09 Dec 2002 18:22:44
09 Dec 2002 18:22:44 Owen Eastwick replied:
Do the pages run OK when you test them on your PC? Check with your host that they support asp.

asp pages usually require NT4 or 5 server with IIS, however IIS can be configured not to run asp, similarly there are products that allow asp pages to run on Linux/Apache.

Regards

Owen.

Multiple Parameter UD4 / Access 2000 Database Search Tutorial:
www.tdsf.co.uk/tdsfdemo
Replied 10 Dec 2002 17:01:39
10 Dec 2002 17:01:39 Nick Brook replied:
The pages when loaded on my pc, directly go to ultradev, and when draged into my browser, still try to download. I suspect then that this is a setting on my PC. Could it be that it is because Ultradev has set all ASP files to load in it, or does it have nothing to do with it? I am using IE6, Zone Alarm Pro (could this be it for my PC?) and Win 98se. The files load fine in ultra dev. In terms of the server, I use Tripod, they say "Currently, Tripod does not support Active Server Pages (.asp and .asf), server-side includes (SSI), or server-side scripts that are not written in Perl. This includes (but is not limited to) JSP, PHP, ColdFusion, and XSSI." So what alternatives could I use out of them. Thanyou for your help, some thing I say you may of heard a million times before, but we all have to start somewhere! Thanks again,
Dignick

When I think of something to put here, I'll tell ya.
Replied 19 Dec 2002 16:13:28
19 Dec 2002 16:13:28 Paul Lacey replied: