Forums

PHP

This topic is locked

PHP Upload: Increase Size

Posted 04 Jun 2002 06:28:19
has voted
04 Jun 2002 06:28:19 Andrew Eldon posted:
Hi there,

I have downloaded the PHP upload extension which is fantastic. I've included it in our corporate intranet for people to upload files with, but a 2 MB limit is way too small. I have also downloaded and installed the Increase Size extension, but this only works on a 1 off basis.

I'm new to PHP (so please bear with me) but if Size extension temporarily changes the settings in the php.ini file to allow for 8 MB and then resets itself - could you not change the default settings in the php.ini file to allow for much bigger file sizes? What information would I have to change and is there a Max. file size - I really need to be able to allow users to upload some pretty large files (50MB and up).

I don't know enough to make this happen on my own.

Hope someone can help or clear things up.

Cheers.

Andrew

Replies

Replied 04 Jun 2002 08:59:01
04 Jun 2002 08:59:01 Bruno Mairlot replied:
Hi Andrew,

to be able to increase the upload size, you should edit your php.ini file, and at the line :

upload_max_filesize = 2M

change it to

upload_max_filesize = 50M

But, you must be aware that when you upload a file with PHP, it keeps the whole file in memory before writing it onto the disk, therefore uploading a 50 Mb file will require 50 Mb of RAM on your server. Having three users that simultaneously upload that kind of files could easily bring the server on to its knees.

Bruno
Replied 04 Jun 2002 09:51:55
04 Jun 2002 09:51:55 Andrew Eldon replied:
Hi Bruno,

Thanks for the message: I have been consulting the PHP Manual and have changed the post_max_size, upload_max_size and memory_limit settings in the php.ini file - but unfortunately none of this has worked yet.

I have a feeling it may be another server default that I need to change but my head hurts too much right now to try and figure that one out!