Forums

PHP

This topic is locked

SEARCH/RESULTS Question

Posted 17 Feb 2002 08:50:59
has voted
17 Feb 2002 08:50:59 John Ashton posted:
Hi All, Novice here.
I have a search form where the user enters a name, then selects one of two columns from which to search. Thus the form sends URLstuff...?name=value,column=value.

My problem is I cant figure out how to set up the query. I am using Phakt, PHP & MySQL.

Any guidance would be really much appreciated.

John Ashton
Intellinet Business Solutions
Wollombi NSW 2325
ph: +61-2-4998 3426
email:

Replies

Replied 17 Feb 2002 11:46:35
17 Feb 2002 11:46:35 Bruno Mairlot replied:
To setup the query, use the Recordset server behavior.

Then, in the Filter drop-down menu, select the field of the database you want to search, then, select the URL Get Parameter, then close to that menu, you will just enter the name of the URL Get parameter (name or column as in your example)

If you want to search on more than one field, then switch to Advanced view, there you will see the SQL statement, in the WHERE part, add your second field, and don't forget to add a Parameter.

Hope it helps.

Bruno

--- Better to die trying, than never try at all ---
Replied 18 Feb 2002 02:06:29
18 Feb 2002 02:06:29 John Ashton replied:
Bruno
Many thanks for your prompt reply, but it looks like I did not explain the problem sufficiently, or, I am missing something in your answer.

The database contains a number of columns, two of which contain names that can be searched on. (FamilyName & Ship). Now, the Search form allows the user to enter a name to be searched on and selects either FamilyName or Ship. Therefore, the query has to be set up so that it can search for the "value" given to the "Name" field in the form, AND the "value" given to the "columnSelect" field in the form.